How I structure work as a Solo Founder

Christian Kjær
7 min readJun 26, 2024

Not a Medium member? Read the post here for free.

This is for sure something that will keep evolving over time, but I got inspired by this Hacker News post to share in more detail how I organize myself and my work (you can see my short answer here).

The question posed is great, so let’s start from there:

When working with a team, I’ve found that Scrum-like short-term goals and organized task backlogs really help keep me focused and on track with the work I have to do. For solo development, however, I’ve never really found any approach that sticks and often end up getting sidetracked and losing track of my objectives.

So my question to all of you is, what tools and techniques have you used to ensure you stick to your objectives?

You could rephrase this slightly to: How do I run my own project management?

For most Engineers, this is not actually something they’ve needed to do often, especially if working in larger corporations. The people that have worked at Startups are a mixed bag, where some learn the value of structure, and others managed to get by without since the fast-paced environment changes things around all the time anyways.

I’ve personally landed in the camp of: Structure is valuable, even crucial, but it should never get in my way. Best of both worlds sorta.

What is my context?

--

--

Christian Kjær

Founder of codetalk.io and blogging on codethoughts.io 👀 •• Rust/Serverless ❤️ Previously: Director of Eng at Famly 🌱 Built IoT platform at Factbird ☁️